Best Bookkeeping Services for Small Businesses
Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting is our top pick among bookkeeping services for small businesses and churches that want one named bookkeeper and a written quote. At ModernWallet, we publish free calculators and plain-language money guides for owners who need an accurate number before they sign anything.
We compared five services, from a local firm in Idaho to national online teams. Published prices start at a flat $250 a month. Danielson, the one local firm, quotes after it reviews your books.
How we ranked these bookkeeping services
We ranked each service on what it publishes about its own work. We did not hire any of them.
- A named person on your books. You should know who reconciles your accounts and answers your questions.
- Scope and price in writing before work starts. A written scope lists what is included and what is not, so the first invoice matches the quote.
- Clear catch-up pricing. Many small businesses arrive months behind, so the backlog price matters.
- A clean handoff at tax time. The books must support a return, whether the service files it or your certified public accountant (CPA) does.
Prices below are the figures each service lists on its own pricing page.
#1 Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting
Best for: Churches and small businesses that want one named bookkeeper and a written scope
Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting is a Kuna, Idaho practice run by Carey Danielson. Carey holds a master of business administration (MBA) and the QuickBooks Online Advanced ProAdvisor certification issued by Intuit. Danielson lists more than 20 years of bookkeeping work, much of it with churches.
The monthly service records every transaction and reconciles each bank, card, and loan account. You get a profit and loss (P&L) statement and a balance sheet on an agreed date each month. Church clients also get fund accounting, giving records, year-end contribution statements, and pastoral payroll.
Danielson does not prepare tax returns. Carey keeps the books organized so your CPA can file from them. Our Danielson Bookkeeping review covers the church services and the onboarding steps in more detail.
Strengths
- Church fund accounting ties each gift to its fund, so leadership gets a monthly fund balance report
- QuickBooks setup, cleanup, catch-up, and migration from QuickBooks Desktop or spreadsheets, so the person who fixes the file also runs it each month
- A written scope with inclusions, exclusions, schedule, and fee before any work starts, so the price is settled before the first invoice
- Named user logins and secure file sharing in place of shared passwords, with access removed when the engagement ends
- In-person meetings across Idaho's Treasure Valley, from Boise to Caldwell, and remote service elsewhere
Limitations
- No published prices, so request the written quote early and compare it with Merritt's $250 flat fee
- No tax preparation or tax planning, so you still need a CPA or enrolled agent at filing time
- The site names only Carey Danielson, so ask who covers your books during a vacation or illness
- Services are built around QuickBooks Online. If you use other accounting software, confirm Danielson will work in it
Pricing: Quote-based. Danielson sends a written scope and fee after a consultation and records review. Cost depends on transaction volume, number of accounts and funds, payroll, and how current the books are.
#2 Merritt Bookkeeping
Best for: Small businesses that want one flat monthly fee with no tiers
Merritt Bookkeeping charges a flat $250 a month with no pricing tiers and no contracts. A bookkeeper enters every transaction in QuickBooks and sends you a spreadsheet to review the work, so you do not have to learn QuickBooks yourself. Each month also includes ten plain-English reports and standard financial statements for your accountant.
Catch-up costs $200 for each month behind, or $100 for a month with fewer than 20 transactions to enter. Merritt does not prepare tax returns or run payroll.
Strengths
- $250 a month flat, so a busy month does not raise your bill
- Per-month catch-up pricing, so you can work out a backlog cost before you call
- A review spreadsheet lets you check every entry without a QuickBooks login
- Full refund if you are not satisfied within the first three months
Limitations
- No tax preparation or payroll, so plan on a separate CPA and payroll provider
- A small client roster by design, so you may need to submit a form and wait for an opening
- One plan for every client. If you want weekly bookkeeping, look at Xendoo or Bookkeeper.com instead
Pricing: $250/month flat, no contracts. Catch-up $200 per month behind ($100 for light months).
#3 Bookkeeper360
Best for: Businesses that want bookkeeping, payroll, and tax filing from one online provider
Bookkeeper360 starts bookkeeping at $400 a month, with a U.S.-based team closing the books monthly or weekly. Books can be kept on a cash or accrual basis. The team works in QuickBooks or Xero, connects to Gusto payroll, and every plan includes Bookkeeper360's own reporting software.
Bookkeeper360 also sells tax, payroll, and sales tax work, so one provider can cover all three.
Strengths
- Monthly or weekly close on a cash or accrual basis, so a growing business can move to accrual books without changing providers
- If you already use QuickBooks or Xero, Bookkeeper360 works in either one
- Month-to-month or annual plans with no long-term commitment
Limitations
- $400 a month is a starting price, and Bookkeeper360 says pricing scales with size and complexity. Get the quote for your transaction volume in writing
- Catch-up starts at $1,000, which costs more than Merritt's per-month rate for a backlog under five months
- Bundle discounts are mentioned but not quantified, so ask for the bundled figure before you sign
Pricing: Bookkeeping from $400/month. Catch-up from $1,000. Business returns from $1,200/year. Payroll from $200/month. Sales tax from $125/month.
#4 Xendoo
Best for: Xero users who want weekly bookkeeping at a published price
Xendoo's Essential plan costs $395 a month, or $355 a month billed annually, for businesses with up to $50,000 in monthly expenses. It covers four bank or credit card accounts, weekly bookkeeping, a dedicated team, and cash-basis books. Growth and Scale raise the expense ceiling to $75,000 and $125,000 a month.
Xendoo displays a Xero Partner of the Year award and offers a service that moves books from QuickBooks Online to Xero. Business tax returns, handled by CPAs, start at $1,295 a year.
Strengths
- Weekly bookkeeping on every plan, so the cash balance in your books is never more than a week old
- No onboarding or setup fees
- Annual billing saves 10%, which is $480 a year on the Essential plan
Limitations
- Essential is limited to four bank or card accounts and cash-basis books. Modified accrual starts on Growth, and full accrual needs a Custom quote
- The pricing page does not say whether ongoing bookkeeping runs in QuickBooks Online, so QuickBooks users should ask before signing
Pricing: Essential $395/month ($355 billed annually). Growth $695 ($625). Scale $995 ($895). Catch-up from $295/month. Business tax returns from $1,295/year.
#5 Bookkeeper.com
Best for: Businesses that want a cash flow statement and class or location tracking
Bookkeeper.com, based in Waynesboro, Virginia, sells three plans priced by annual revenue and monthly transactions. The $399 plan covers up to $500,000 and 100 transactions with a monthly close, and the $799 plan reaches $1,000,000 and 300 transactions with a weekly close.
Every plan includes a dedicated bookkeeper and account manager, a month-end close, a balance sheet, a P&L, and a statement of cash flows. Books can be cash or accrual, with transactions split by class, location, or department.
Strengths
- A statement of cash flows on every plan, so you can see why cash fell in a month that showed a profit
- Class, location, and department tracking, so a business with two locations can see each one's profit
Limitations
- The $399 plan allows 100 transactions a month. Count last month's bank and card lines before you pick a tier
- Catch-up, payroll, and tax prices are not published, so ask for each in writing with the bookkeeping quote
- The site lists no CPA credential for its staff, so ask who prepares tax returns if you add that service
Pricing: Small Business $399/month, Plus $599/month (200 transactions, twice-monthly close), Advanced $799/month. Custom above $1,000,000 revenue.
Comparison: 5 bookkeeping services at a glance
| Option | Starting price | Catch-up pricing | Tax returns | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Featured Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting Visit site → | Written quote | Quoted after file review | No (works with your CPA) | Churches, Treasure Valley businesses |
| Merritt Bookkeeping | $250/mo flat | $200 per month behind | No | Flat monthly fee |
| Bookkeeper360 | $400/mo | From $1,000 | From $1,200/yr | Books, payroll, and tax |
| Xendoo | $355/mo (annual) | From $295/mo | From $1,295/yr | Weekly books in Xero |
| Bookkeeper.com | $399/mo | Quote | Quote | Cash flow and class tracking |
| AccountingDepartment.com | Not published (four flat monthly tiers, quote-based) | Not published | No, states it does not provide tax services | Businesses from under $1M to $100M+ revenue wanting an outsourced accounting department |
| 1-800Accountant | Business Complete $469/mo billed annually (full-service bookkeeping) | Catch-up bookkeeping offered as add-on, price not published | Included in Starter and Business Complete plans | Small business owners wanting bookkeeping and tax filing together |
| BooksTime | Not published | Not published | Not stated; says it is not a CPA firm | Small businesses, nonprofits, real estate and construction firms wanting outsourced bookkeeping |
| Otterz | Not published (says transparent monthly pricing) | Not published | Yes, tax and compliance service for businesses | Startups and small businesses wanting bookkeeping plus controller or CFO help |
| Mindspace Outsourcing | Not published | Not published | Yes, tax return preparation and submission | CPA firms and small to large businesses outsourcing bookkeeping and payroll |
| Maxim Liberty | From $75/month for 5 hours, no setup fees or lock-in | Catch-up and cleanup offered; price not published | Year-end returns offered; says bookkeepers are not CPAs | Small businesses and CPA firms wanting remote bookkeeping in U.S. and Canada |
| Numetix | Essentials $499/mo, Growth $999/mo, Enterprise $2,499/mo | Not published | Lists Tax & Compliance; return preparation not stated | Healthcare, legal, nonprofit, property and professional services firms |
| Infinity Globus | Not published | Not published | Yes, tax preparation offered | Accounting firms outsourcing bookkeeping and tax work |
| Milestone | Not published | Not published | Tax preparation offered as an optional service; fees not published | Startups and small businesses, including SaaS, agencies and professional services |
| Bookkeeping and Accounting of Florida Inc. | Not published | Not published | Tax preparation offered; fees not published | Jacksonville-area businesses wanting bookkeeping, payroll and fractional CFO help |
| Haven | $450 per month at $20,000 monthly spending; rises with complexity | Not published | Business tax service offered; price not published | Startups and small businesses with growing finances |
| Less Accounting | $299 per month (Simple, under $300K revenue) | Cleanup quote on request; price not published | Tax support and CPA-ready books; return pricing not published | Freelancers, agencies, startups and nonprofits wanting monthly bookkeeping |
| Pinnacle Taxx Solutions | $350 to $750 per month (Basic plan, custom quote) | Book cleanup offered; price not published | Year-end taxes included in the Basic plan | Small businesses, mainly in Florida, such as contractors and real estate agents |
| Slaton Financial Services | Not published; quote by phone | Not published | Tax filing and quarterly tax reports handled; fees not published | Dallas-Fort Worth businesses, nonprofits and associations wanting outsourced bookkeeping |
| SLC Bookkeeping | Not published | Not published | Yes, business and personal returns | Restaurants, studios, contractors, hospitality, law firms |
| Best Pro Books & Tax | Not published; fixed price agreed upfront per client | Books Clean-up service for multi-year backlogs; price Not published | Annual business and personal returns, quarterly estimates, sales tax and 1099 filings | Start-ups and small to medium businesses, served remotely across the U.S. |
| Two Roads | Not published | Not published | Separate monthly tax subscription with a dedicated tax professional; returns in bookkeeping Not published | Restaurants, medical practices, retail, IT, creative, professional and home services, non-profits |
| Xendoo | Essential $395/mo, or $355/mo billed annually | Catch-Up Bookkeeping from $295/mo | Business returns from $1,295/yr; personal returns from $625/yr | Small businesses in any industry, plans tiered by monthly expenses |
| Acuity | Not published; example client plans from about $599/mo | Cleanup My Books service; custom quote | Tax preparation and filing offered; custom quote | Entrepreneurs, including ecommerce, SaaS and agency businesses |
| BookWerks | Flat monthly fee by business size; amount Not published | Not published | Not published | Small businesses using Xero or QuickBooks, such as dental, retail, restaurants |
| Two Hills CPAs | Not published | Not published | Business and individual tax return preparation offered; price Not published | Businesses, nonprofits and individuals; Denver, Colorado CPA firm |
| Yield Bookkeeping Services | Not published; custom quote after free consultation | Bookkeeping cleanup offered; price Not published | Not published | Start-ups, small to mid-sized businesses and nonprofits |
| Dialed In Bookkeeping | Light $300/mo, Core $500/mo, T&M $1,000/mo; $500 onboarding | Catch-Up & Cleanup service; price Not published | Tax filing $1,000 to $2,000 per year | Home service businesses such as painting, landscaping and cleaning |
| Molen & Associates | Not published; per project or monthly subscription | Cleanup work offered; price not published | Yes (individual, small business, S-corp, C-corp) | Houston-area small businesses needing bookkeeping plus tax prep |
| North Carolina Bookkeeping | Not published; call for a quote | Accounting cleanups offered; price not published | Not published | Charlotte small businesses and individuals, in person or remote |
| Rigits | From $895/month, three tiers | Books cleaned up after signing; separate price not published | Not published | Growing businesses wanting bookkeeping, payroll and fractional CFO support |
Rates, fees and terms are as each company publishes them. Confirm current details before you apply. Listed here? Update your listing.
Our verdict: which should you choose?
Choose Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting if you run a church or a small business in Idaho's Treasure Valley and want one bookkeeper who sets up QuickBooks around how you operate. Plan on a separate CPA, because Danielson does not file returns.
If a published price matters more than a local relationship, Merritt Bookkeeping's $250 flat fee is the lowest monthly figure on this list. Bookkeeper360 suits owners who want payroll and tax from the same provider.
Bookkeeper vs Accountant vs CPA
A bookkeeper records and reconciles your transactions each month. An accountant uses those books to prepare tax returns and give tax advice, and only a licensed CPA firm can audit or review financial statements.
Bookkeepers do not need a CPA license. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) says certification is not usually required, and most bookkeepers learn on the job. A QuickBooks ProAdvisor certification shows a person passed Intuit's QuickBooks exam, and you can search certified ProAdvisors by ZIP code in Intuit's ProAdvisor directory.
A CPA holds a state license, which you can confirm in the CPAverify lookup run by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). An enrolled agent (EA) is licensed by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to represent taxpayers. Anyone paid to prepare federal returns must hold a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN).
Most small businesses need both roles. Danielson and Merritt stop at the books, while Bookkeeper360 and Xendoo also prepare returns. Our guide on how to choose a CPA or tax adviser covers the tax side of that decision.
What Bookkeeping Services Cost for a Small Business
Monthly bookkeeping on this list starts at $250 to $400 a month, or $3,000 to $4,800 a year at the entry tier. The table converts each published entry price to a yearly cost.
| Service | Entry monthly price | Yearly cost |
|---|---|---|
| Merritt Bookkeeping | $250 | $3,000 |
| Xendoo Essential (annual billing) | $355 | $4,260 |
| Bookkeeper.com Small Business | $399 | $4,788 |
| Bookkeeper360 | From $400 | From $4,800 |
| Danielson | Quote | Quote |
Hiring in-house costs more. The BLS puts median pay for bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks at $50,670 a year as of May 2025, before payroll taxes and benefits. That salary alone is nearly 17 times Merritt's $3,000 yearly fee.
Software is a separate line. QuickBooks Online list prices are $38 a month for Simple Start, $85 for Essentials, and $140 for Plus, before promotions. None of the five services says on its website that a QuickBooks subscription is included, so ask each service who pays for it.
Before you compare quotes, run last year's figures through our operating cash flow calculator to see what a $300 monthly fee takes out of your cash.
Catch-Up vs Cleanup Bookkeeping
Catch-up bookkeeping records months where nothing was entered, and cleanup fixes records that exist but are wrong. Danielson defines cleanup as correcting duplicates, miscategorized transactions, and unreconciled accounts. Many files need both, so expect a records review before any quote.
The services price a backlog four ways:
- Per month behind. Merritt charges $200 for each missing month, or $100 for a month with fewer than 20 transactions. A 12-month backlog with four light months costs 8 × $200 plus 4 × $100, which is $2,000.
- Flat project minimum. Bookkeeper360 starts catch-up and prior-period cleanup at $1,000.
- Monthly catch-up plan. Xendoo starts catch-up bookkeeping at $295 a month.
- Scoped project. Danielson reviews the file first and quotes the backlog separately from monthly work.
Bring bank statements for every month in the gap to that records review.
A backlog that includes an unfiled tax year is a tax problem as well as a bookkeeping one. The IRS record-keeping guidance says to keep records indefinitely for any year you did not file. Our tax resolution calculator shows your IRS relief options if the catch-up work turns up a balance due.
Questions to Ask a Bookkeeping Service Before You Sign
Ask every bookkeeping service the same eight questions, and get the answers in writing.
- Who is my named bookkeeper, and who covers my books when that person is out?
- How many accounts and transactions does the monthly fee include?
- Will you keep my books on a cash or accrual basis?
- On what day each month will I get my P&L and balance sheet?
- Does the fee include the QuickBooks or Xero subscription?
- Who owns the books file, and do I keep access if I leave?
- How is catch-up work priced, and is it separate from the monthly fee?
- Do you prepare tax returns, and if so, who holds the PTIN?
Red Flags When Hiring a Bookkeeper
Walk away from a bookkeeper who shows any of these warning signs.
- Asks for your bank password. A bookkeeper should get a named user account or read-only access.
- Starts work without a written scope. Every service on this list puts the price in writing first, so ask for it before you send records.
- Promises a lower tax bill. Tax savings come from a CPA or EA, so ask who on the team holds that license.
- Prepares returns without a PTIN. The IRS requires one for anyone paid to prepare federal returns.
- Keeps the books in a file you cannot open. Ask for your own login to the accounting software from day one.
- Quotes a catch-up price without seeing your statements. Ask what records any quote assumes before you accept it.
Who Should Skip These Bookkeeping Services
A solo freelancer with a few dozen transactions a month can skip a paid bookkeeper. Free software plus a separate business bank account covers that volume, and our best accounting software for freelancers roundup lists two free options.
A business that needs audited or reviewed financial statements for a lender or investor should hire a CPA firm. Danielson excludes audit and review work. A business that already has clean books and only needs a tax return should compare a CPA, an EA, and a tax attorney in our tax attorney vs CPA vs enrolled agent comparison.
What Would Change Our Ranking
Two changes would move the order of this list.
- If Danielson's written quotes for a typical small business came in well above $400 a month, Bookkeeper360's published plan would offer more services for a business outside church work.
- If Merritt Bookkeeping closed its roster to new clients, Xendoo would become our pick for a published price.
Pull your last three months of bank and card statements, count the transactions, and ask two of these bookkeeping services for a written quote on the same numbers.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a bookkeeping service cost for a small business?
The services on this list start at $250 to $400 a month, or $3,000 to $4,800 a year. Merritt Bookkeeping is the lowest at a flat $250. Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting quotes after reviewing your records.
What is the difference between a bookkeeper and a CPA?
A bookkeeper records and reconciles your transactions, while a CPA is state-licensed to prepare returns, give tax advice, and issue reviewed or audited statements. Bookkeepers do not need a CPA license. Many small businesses use both: a bookkeeper keeps the books monthly, and a CPA files the return from them once a year.
What is catch-up bookkeeping?
Catch-up bookkeeping enters the months or years where no records were kept. Cleanup is different: it corrects records that exist but are wrong, such as duplicates or unreconciled accounts.
Can my bookkeeper do my taxes?
Only if the bookkeeper also prepares returns and holds a PTIN, which the IRS requires of anyone paid to prepare federal returns. Danielson Bookkeeping & Consulting and Merritt Bookkeeping do not prepare taxes. Bookkeeper360 and Xendoo do, and Bookkeeper.com lists tax returns as an add-on.
Does a church need a bookkeeper if it already has a treasurer?
Often yes, because the two jobs differ. Danielson's FAQ explains that the treasurer oversees finances while the bookkeeper records, reconciles, and reports. Splitting those roles gives leadership a second set of eyes on the money. That split is separation of duties, though it is not an audit.
How long should a small business keep bookkeeping records?
The IRS default is three years from filing. Keep records six years if you left out income above 25% of the gross income on your return, and indefinitely if you did not file. Employment tax records must be kept at least four years after the tax is due or paid.
Free calculators to help you decide
Sources
We prioritize primary sources for rules, formulas, rates, limits, and definitions. See our calculator methodology and editorial policy.